I’ve read boring books, confusing books, incoherent books but I hadn’t come across a pathetically written one till I borrowed this from an aunt. I’m so glad that I didn’t buy this book!

The title of the book by Karan Johar and Poonam Saxena, ‘An Unsuitable Boy’ is an indication of how much (read less) effort went into writing the book. (The title is ‘inspired’ by Vikram Seth’s ‘A Suitable Boy’). If you have seen ‘Koffee with Karan’ Season 5 you will realise that he has recounted many of the anecdotes in the book on the show. I could almost hear Karan Johar while reading the book. It is written in his talk show chatty style filled with anecdotes and justifications.

“I’m from South Bombay”, “I was called pansy”, “I was fat and insecure” are repeated in almost every chapter or at least there’s a reference to it. There is no continuity so you can read the book from any chapter or you could read a few chapters and toss the book aside (just like my father).

IMG_20170316_094409_680

I was really surprised that it was highly rated on many online forums but then realised that most of the people who picked up the book were his fans/ admirers. If you are a Bollywood junkie and love reading about movie stars and life in Bollywood you will probably enjoy the book. It’s not a serious piece of writing and maybe it wasn’t intended to be.

Leave a Reply

