Gillian Flynn is so good at writing about the ‘dark places’ in her characters’ minds that you wonder how she does so and remains sane. If ‘Gone Girl’ shook you up, try this. It is macabre, dreary and gory. ‘Dark Places’ is classified as a crime novel but as the case with any good crime novel it is a study of human psychology, relationships and the lies behind the truth.

The book was lying around for over a year. I was scared to go back to the numbing world Gillian Flynn creates where you question if anything is real at all and if there is any good left in human beings. When I finally picked it up, I didn’t set it down till I finished it.

The first chapter starts with the following lines which set the tone of the rest of the book.

“I have a meanness inside me, real as an organ. Slit me at my belly and it might slide out, meaty and dark, drop on the floor so you could stomp on it.”

img_20170208_192850_011

A few of the lines that stand out for me are –

“The truly frightening flaw in humanity is our capacity for cruelty – we all have it.”

“It was surprising that you could spend hours in the middle of the night pretending things were okay, and know in thirty seconds of daylight that simply wasn’t so”

 

2 thoughts on “Last Week of January

Leave a Reply

